The Australian Interior Design Awards (AIDA) has announced the judging panel for its 2018 program.

Next year’s jury of will consist of architects and designers from practices including Studio Gram, FJMT, Nexus Designs, ZWei, DesignOffice, WMK, Make, and COX Architecture. The announcement coincides with the opening of the submissions portal for the 2018 program.

“The 2018 panel is comprised of highly regarded members of the Australian design community. Their stature mirrors the quality of the projects entered and recognised through the program, year-on- year,” says Geraldine Maher, AIDA jury convener.

2018 jury:

The jury for 2018 AIDA:

  • Dave Bickmore, director of Studio Gram
  • Elizabeth Carpenter, managing principal at FJMT
  • Sonia Simpfendorfer, creative director of Nexus Designs
  • Hanna Richardson, principal at Zwei
  • Mark Simpson, director of DesignOffice
  • Donna Wheatley, head of workplace and education strategy at WMK
  • Tracey Wiles, partner at Make
  • Kieran Wong, director of COX Architecture

2018 sustainability advisor:

  • John Gertsakis, director of communications at Equilibrium Consultants

Jury for the 2018 Award for Interior Design Impact:

  • Robert Backhouse, chairman of Hassell
  • Roger Poole, director of Roger Poole Architects
  • Sue Wittenoom, founder of The Soft Build

Jury convener for 2018

  • Geraldine Maher, principal at Geraldine Maher Design

Next year’s awards represent the 15th anniversary of the event, and will follow a record-breaking 525 entries in 2017 which saw Indigo Slam by Smart Design Studio take out the award’s top accolade. The annual awards – open to all Australian-based designers – recognises the best in interior design across residential public and commercial sectors.

Entries are now open and will close on Friday 16 February 2018. Awards and commendations will be presented in Sydney on Friday 25 May 2018.