Sydney’s White Bay Cruise Terminal by Johnson Pilton Walker (JPW) Architects is the sole Australian prize winner from the 2014 The Chicago Athenaeum International Architecture Awards.

Over 110 projects from 36 countries were awarded in 2014, but JPW were the only triumphant Australian architects.

Two New Zealand projects; 87 Tamaki Drive, Auckland, by Ian Moore Architects and PT Resolution Bridge, Auckland, by Warren and Mahoney, were also recognised.

About the White Bay Cruise Terminal:

Located in Sydney Harbour, the White Bay Cruise Terminal is a new cruise facility ordered to serve Australia’s rapidly expanding leisure cruise industry.

The project features a contemporary roof canopy that is draped from the historically significant and restored gantry crane structure.

The architects paid homage to the site’s previous use as a home port for the world’s first regular international containerized shipping service by incorporating the redundant steel crane structure into their design.

This reuse of the existing port assets not only made commercial sense but the design facilitates comfortable operation under natural light and ventilation.  An innovative passive smoke exhaust system also avoids extensive plant normally required for large exhibition space. 

The project was a green-star project under a pilot tool. 

From the architects:

“This simple, lyrical gesture provides a flexible, bright and airy space suitable for a wide range of uses, and creates an iconic and memorable arrival experience for visitors to the city.”

“As an active, vibrant and integral part of the city’s maritime identity, the Sydney Cruise Terminal represents a new chapter in the evolving use of this place; and has opened up the port to the public for the first time in half-a-century.” 

The International Architecture Awards aims to give a global overview of the current aesthetic direction of today’s commercial, corporate, institutional, and residential work to the real estate, banking, business, and corporate community, as well as to the press and general public worldwide.

This year’s Jury included:

  • Joseph Tanney (Resolution: 4 Architecture),
  • David Jay Weiner (David Jay Weiner, Architects, PC),
  • Rona Easton, RA, ARB (Easton+Combs),
  • Bruce Fowle (FXFowle Architects),
  • Hugh Hardy (H3 Hardy Collaboration),
  • Joel Sanders (Joel Sanders Architect),
  • Michael Gabellini (Bagellini Sheppard Associates, LLP),
  • Steven Goldberg (Mitchell/Giurgola Architects, LLP).

Full list of winners available here:

Images: Brett Boardman and Ethan Rohloff.