Winners of the 2014 Australia Award for Urban Design (AAUD) will be announced at an awards dinner on Monday 14 July, 2014 at the National Portrait Gallery in Canberra.

The Australia Award for Urban Design program was created by Prime Minister Paul Keating’s Urban Design Taskforce in 1996. Prime Minister, The Hon Julia Gillard MP is current Patron of the Award.

The AAUD recognises and honours urban design projects of high quality in Australia with an aim to encourage cities, towns and emerging settlements to strive for improvement.

The award also acknowledges the critical role of good urban design in the efficient and effective development of cities, towns and settlements.