The Braggs building at the University of Adelaide won the top award at the Property Council of Australia/ Rider Levett Bucknall South Australian Development of the Year Awards.

The South Australian awards, which lead up to the national Innovation and Excellence Awards, showcases best practice in the property development and investment industry.

The Braggs or the Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing (IPAS) headquarters located at the University of Adelaide's North Terrace campus won the prestigious title of South Australian Development of the Year in the Best Public Building category.

Property Council Executive Director Richard Angove described The Braggs as a microcosm of South Australian ingenuity, with the building becoming a magnet for talent and innovative thinking by bringing the brightest minds under one roof.

Owned by the University of Adelaide, The Braggs houses a unique suite of laboratories and teaching facilities including a 420-seat lecture theatre. Designed to enable collaboration between researchers from different disciplines, the building also exposes budding science students to a trans-disciplinary approach to learning and research.

Congratulating The University of Adelaide for its exceptional achievement, Rider Levett Bucknall Managing Director Peter Tulla said the Building continues the University of Adelaide's endeavours to deliver high quality learning and research spaces for their staff, students and researchers.

Nominees for the South Australian Development of the Year Award were well represented in the Best Public Building category, with The Braggs up against the Adelaide Desalination Plant and Kauwi Interpretive Centre and the Materials and Minerals Sciences Research Building.

The awards ceremony was held at the South Australian Health and Medical Research Institute. All South Australian finalists are still in the running for the national category awards and the coveted Australian Development of the Year Award. The national Innovation and Excellence Awards will be held in Sydney on Saturday 17th May.