Victorian Building Authority (VBA) Chief Commissioner Bill Kusznirczuk has announced the appointment of Chief Executive Officer, Prue Digby for a further three years.

According to Mr Kusznirczuk, since her appointment in November 2013, Prue has overseen the appointment of a new executive leadership team, commenced the restructure of the organisation, and increased regulatory activity. He added that she continues to rebuild relationships with industry and consumers, strengthening the VBA’s role as a regulator. 

Observing the State Government’s regulatory reform program will deliver the VBA greater responsibilities that will see it become a one-stop shop for domestic building consumer protection and practitioner regulation, Mr Kusznirczuk commented that the VBA Board looked forward to continuing to work closely with Prue to achieve best practice regulation for all Victorians.

Chief Commissioner Kusznirczuk also announced that the Minister for Planning, Matthew Guy appointed two new Commissioners to the VBA Board. Welcoming Yvonne von Hartel AM and Dr Lynne Williams to the Board, he said that Yvonne von Hartel has had a distinguished career in architecture over 44 years including projects such as the National Museum in Canberra and the South Wharf Precinct and the City Square Hotel developments in Melbourne. Dr Lynne Williams has held senior executive positions in the Victorian and Federal public service for more than 30 years, and was most recently Under Secretary in the Victorian Department of Treasury and Finance.

Yvonne von Hartel has the distinction of being the first woman to graduate with an Honours degree in architecture from the University of Melbourne, where she has also taught in the School of Architecture. She is a founding principal in the national architecture practice of peckvonhartel. In 2007, Yvonne was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia for ‘services to architecture, design and building through involvement with a range of professional organisations, to the promotion of women in business, and to the community’.

Dr Lynne Williams is chair of the Victorian Government Procurement Board and a Commissioner on the Essential Services Commission of South Australia. She is also a member of the Victorian Legal Services Board. Dr Williams sits on the Board of the Faculty of Business and Economics at the University of Melbourne. She has a Master’s degree in economics from the University of Melbourne and the London School of Economics as well as a PhD from Monash University.

Mr Kusznirczuk thanked Commissioner Geoffrey London, whose term expires on 30 June 2014, and acknowledged his work as a founding member of the VBA Board.

Mr Kusznirczuk said the expanded six-member VBA Board will ensure strong governance, strategic direction and leadership for the organisation.

The regulator of Victoria’s building and plumbing industries, VBA’s ambit will also cover the architecture profession from 1 July 2014.