The Australian Institute of Architects (AIA) have launched the inaugural People’s Choice Award to run in conjunction with the 2014 National Architecture Awards.

Featuring the 13 houses shortlisted by the National Jury across Residential Architecture – Houses New and Alterations and Additions, the People’s Choice Award encourages the public to engage with the National Awards and the work of Australian architects.

Voters must register and then describe in 25 words or less which house they voted for and why they want it to win.

Voting closes midnight, Wednesday 29 October and the winner will be announced on Friday 31 October.

The winners of the National Architecture Awards as chosen by the National Jury will be revealed at a special ceremony in Darwin on Thursday 6 November.

Projects in the running for the People’s Choice Award:

Bellevue Terrace Alterations + Additions – Philip Stejskal Architecture (WA) Photography: Brett Boardman

Griffith House – Popov Bass Architects (NSW) Photography: Sharrin Rees

Highgate Hill House – Twofold Studio & Cox Rayner Architects (Qld) Photography: Christopher Frederick-Jones

House at Hanging Rock – Kerstin Thompson Architects (Vic) Photography: Trevor Mein

Hover House – Bower Architecture (Vic) Photography: Trevor Mein

K House – Chenchow Little (NSW) Photography: John Gollings

Lune de Sang – Stone House – CHROFI (NSW) Photography: John Gollings

Oxlade Drive House – James Russell Architect (Qld) Photography: Toby Scott

South Yarra Warehouse – NMBW Architecture Studio (Vic) Photography: NMBW

Southern Outlet House – Philip M Dingemanse (Tas) Photography: Jonathon Wherrett

Strohmayr House – Troppo Architects (NT) Photography: Fiona Morrison

West End Tower – Owen and Vokes and Peters (Qld) Photography: Jon Linkin

Tamarama Semi-D – David Langston-Jones (NSW) Photography: Anthony Browell