Finalists in the World Environment Day Awards 2014 announced by the United Nations Association of Australia include community groups, large and small businesses, journalists, tertiary institutions and schools.

Marking World Environment Day on 5 June, the awards celebrate innovative and outstanding environmental programs and initiatives across Australia as well as the critical work of environmental leaders.

The World Environment Day Awards 2014 theme is the International Year of Family Farming (IYFF) that aims to raise the profile of family farming and smallholder farming. IYFF focuses world attention on the significant role of farming in eradicating hunger and poverty, providing food security and nutrition, improving livelihoods, managing natural resources, protecting the environment, and achieving sustainable development.

The World Environment Award 2014 winners will be announced at the Presentation Dinner to be held at the Crystal Ballroom at Milsons Point in Sydney, on Friday 13 June. This special event will be hosted by Rob Gell, Environmental Entrepreneur and Chairman of UNESCO Western Port Biosphere, with entertainment by Clint Paddison, Comedian.

List of Finalists

NSW Office of Environment and Heritage Sustainability Leadership Awards - Small and Medium Organisations: Daintree Discovery Centre (QLD); Hunter Business Chamber, The City of Newcastle and Hunter TAFE Energy Hunter, (NSW)

Swinburne University of Technology Excellence in Sustainable Product Design Award: L & T Brown TA My Squeeze, My Squeeze (QLD); Seeley International PTY LTD, Braemar ‘Super-Six’ Ducted Gas Heater (SA)

Hanson's Green Building Award: Charter Hall and CBUS Property, 171 Collins St, Melbourne (VIC); Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp (fjmt), Bankstown Library and Knowledge Centre (NSW); Industry Superannuation Property Trust, 4 National Circuit, Barton (ACT); Matthew Grace Architecture, Kyneton House (VIC)

Virgin Australia Community Award: Bellarine Friends of the Hooded Plover, Protecting the Hooded Plover (VIC); Conservation Volunteers Australia, Eastern Barred Bandicoot Partnerships for Recovery (VIC); Kangaroo Island Dolphin Watch, Little Island Big Pond (SA); Nillumbik’s Conservation Corridors Steering Committee, Nillumbik’s Conservation Corridors (VIC)

Biodiversity Award: Bush Heritage Australia, Fitz-Sterling Operational Area, Gondwana Link (VIC); David Lindenmayer, Long-term Studies for biodiversity conservation (ACT); Goolwa to Wellington Local Action Planning Association Inc., (SA); Nillumbik’s Conservation Corridors Steering Committee, Nillumbik’s Conservation (VIC); Wetlands Habitat Trust – Pailwalla, (SA)

Business Award for Best Specific Environmental Initiative: A J Bush and Sons (Manufactures) PTY LTD, Clean Technology Project (QLD); Groundworks Australia, Ecoblanket (QLD); Hydro Tasmania, The King Island Renewable Energy Integration Project (KIREIP) (TAS); MobileMuster (NSW); Saffrron Restaurant, (NT)

Business Award for Excellence in Overall Environmental Management: Global GreenTag, (QLD); República Coffee (NSW)

Environmental School Award: Bentleigh Secondary College, A Very Sustainable School (VIC); Silkwood School, Silkwood Seed – Growing Sustainability (QLD); Stella Maris Primary School, (VIC); Tatachilla Lutheran College, EcoClassroom (SA)

Excellence in Sustainable Water Management Award: Barwon Water/ Plenary Environment/ Water Infrastructure Group, The Barwon Water Biosolids Management Project (VIC); Byrne Vineyards, Scotts Creek Brenda Park Wetlands and Vineyard Project (SA); Department of Environment and Primary Industries, Schools Water Efficiency Program (SWEP) (VIC); Environmental Fluid Systems, Sri Lankan Water Purification (VIC)

Individual Award: Daniel Brindley, Main Project: Habitat Restoration Fund (VIC); Dr Talebul Islam, Transforming Randwick’s Waste Future (NSW)

Local Government Award for Best Specific Environmental Initiative: Adelaide City Council, City Library (SA); City of Boroondara, Integrating and Celebrating Wildlife within Our City (VIC); City of Melbourne, Degraves Street Recycling, (VIC); Darebin City Council, Solar Power Saver (VIC); Randwick City Council, Waste NOT!- Recovering waste by taking environmental action, (NSW)

Local Government Award for Excellence in Overall Environmental Management: Randwick City Council, Randwick’s ‘Think, Act Save’-Taking Sustainability Even Further (NSW); Shoalhaven City Council, Excellence in Environmental Management Award (NSW)

Media Award for Environmental Reporting: Adrian Glamorgan and Elizabeth PO/'Understory', Beyond Nuclear War and Radioactive Peace (WA); Eric Campbell, Marianna Leitch, Geoffrey Lye, Nicholas Brenner and Garth Thomas, The Philippines – Super Storm (NSW); Jane Bardon/ABC 730 NT, Environment Corners Cut in Northern Australia Development Push (NT); Stephen Ambruster, Dying Islands: Solomon Battles with Rising Sea Levels (QLD)

Sustainability Education Award: Cultivating Community, Food Know How Program (VIC); Lane Cove Bushland and Conservation Society, Lane Cove Bush Kids (NSW); PeeKdesigns, Enviro-Stories (VIC); Sustainability At Work, 12 Week Online Sustainability Boot Camp (NSW)