Two members of the Design Institute Of Australia (DIA) were part of the 2014 Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

David Robertson AM LFDIA, an Accredited Designer, member of the DIA Hall of Fame, and Past National President of DIA received a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) this year ‘for significant service to the design industry as a leader and as an advocate for innovation’.

Founder and principal of Icarus Design, an industrial and graphic design consultancy in Adelaide, David Robertson served as National President of the DIA from 2000 to 2008. He has also authored several articles and web publications documenting the history of the design sector in Australia.

NSW interior designer and author Babette Hayes OAM MDIA was the second DIA member in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List, receiving a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) ‘for service to interior design and Australian cuisine as an author’.

Principal of Babette Hayes Design in Mosman, Sydney, Babette Hayes has been working as an interior designer/decorator and colour consultant for the past 40 years, and has also published several books and presented lectures.