My shortlist (0 item)

    Flinders St Station Design Competition shortlist unveiled

    The shortlist of architects for the Flinders Street Station Design Competition has been released, including some of the world and Australia’s most renowned design teams.

    The majority on the shortlist are leading Australian firms teamed up with big international names, including Hassell + Herzog & De Meuron; BVN and Zaha Hadid; and John Wardle Architects + Grimshaw.

    Going it alone are renowned local firms Ashton Raggatt McDougall and NH Architecture.

    There is also a youthful collaboration which includes recent graduates and students, the emerging talents Eduardo Velasquez, Manuel Pineda and Santiago Medina from Columbia.

    The shortlisted designers are: (listed in order of registration)

    • Ashton Raggatt McDougall (Melbourne)
    • John Wardle Architects + Grimshaw (Australia and UK)
    • HASSELL + Herzog & de Meuron (Melbourne and Switzerland)
    • NH Architecture (Melbourne)
    • Eduardo Velasquez + Manuel Pineda + Santiago Medina (Columbia via University of Melbourne)
    • Zaha Hadid Architecture & BVN Architecture (UK and Melbourne) (see attachment for further information on shortlisted competitors)

    The shortlisted entrants now have six months to develop their ideas and attend various technical briefings and workshops before Stage 2 of the competition closes on 4 July 2013.

    Following this, final designs will be put on public display for the people’s choice voting while the competition jury meets again to select a winner.

    (Pictured) High Speed Train Station Napoli - Afragola, Naples, Italy by Zaha Hadid Architects

    Competition jury chair and Victorian State Government Architect Professor Geoffrey London said the jury was impressed by the immense amount of work undertaken by the 117 submitting teams.

    “Given the complexity and scale of the design challenge, the high overall quality of submissions made the jury’s task of short-listing a difficult one,” Professor London said.

    “However after carefully applying the competition evaluation criteria, the jury is confident that the six short-listed teams represent the strongest propositions for the redevelopment of this precinct, much-loved Melbourne icon and intensely used transport hub.

    “The jury looks forward, with great anticipation, to see how each of the six Stage 1 design concepts evolves over the months ahead,” Professor London said.

    Victorian Minister for Major Projects Dr Denis Napthine said:

    “This competition has always been about finding the best local and international talent to re-invigorate Melbourne’s iconic Flinders Street Station precinct and looking at this shortlist I think we’ve managed to do that.”

    He add: “Between them, this group is responsible for some of Melbourne and the world’s most renowned buildings including Hamer Hall, Beijing’s National Stadium used in the 2008 Olympics and Rome’s Museum of XXI Century Arts.

    “Judging from their previous work this is a very exciting group of architects and I am looking forward to finding out more about their visions for the Flinders Street Station precinct.

    Read Comments
    Back to Top