The shortlist has been announced for the tenth annual Sustainability Awards, with projects and products from Australia’s leading design and building industry professionals vying for top honours.

Each year since 2007, the country’s leading designers, suppliers and sustainable building practitioners have come together to celebrate excellence in industry practices in the pursuit of sustainability.

Continuing the trend of recent years, 2016 yet again fielded a record number of entries, and judges were given the difficult task of shortlisting a maximum five projects in most categories.

In total, the Judges have shortlisted 64 finalists across 11 categories, including five in each of the new categories, Heritage, Office & Retail Fitout and Outdoor Structure.

Click on each of the categories below for links to all the projects, products and innovations which have made the cut in 2016.

Large Commercial

Small Commercial

Office & Retail Fitout

Public Building

Outdoor Structure


Multi-Density Residential

Single Dwelling (New)

Single Dwelling (Alterations & Additions)

Green Building Product

Innovation of the Year


The winners in each category will then be in the running for this year’s Best of the Best Award and to mark the program’s tenth anniversary, this year a Best Newcomer and Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented.

All the honours will be announced at a gala awards ceremony in Sydney on October 13, 2016. They will also be published on Architecture & Design and in Infolink|Building Products News magazine.

The task of selecting this year’s winners has been taken on by an impressive group of judges, including dwp|suters’ National Research + Sustainability Leader Rory Martin, Lendlease Sustainability Consultant Darryl Stuckey, Cundall Principal Alistair Coulstock, Norman Disney & Young Global Sustainability Director Tony Arnel, Positive Footprints Director Jeremy Spencer, and Woods Bagot Senior Associate Silvia Cupik. 

Re-joining the band of experts was Suzie Barnett, a 2014 and 2015 judge and a key player in establishing the green building movement in Australia.

Heading the panel as the jury chair is long-time Sustainability Awards judge Dick Clarke of Envirotecture. Clarke will be overseeing the new special awards including Best Newcomer and Lifetime Achievement Award.

For details on the awards presentation event and to book tickets, please click HERE or go to