The third edition of the annual Cemintel 9 Dots Award was launched in April 2014 to bring to the forefront, some of the upcoming stars of the Australian architectural and design industry.

Now in its third consecutive year, a judging panel consisting of well-respected industry peers and mentors have combined to select a winner in both the professional and student categories.

Malcom Carver, Melonie Bayl-Smith, Michael Holt and Marissa Looby will head the Jury and together  have more than 100 years of combined experience and university degrees from all four corners of the globe.  

Both the 9 Dots professional and student categories must incorporate Cemintel products into their designs of and awards will be given to those that redefine the typological ideas of the tight, urban block.

Last years winner enjoyed a tour of the Fallingwater Building by Frank Lloyd Wright. Image:

The winner in the professional category will receive a 17-day architectural study tour of Japan and China valued at $16,000, while the student category winner receives $2,000 towards their study tuition and the highly commended recipient wins a $500 cash prize.

2013 9 Dots winner, Johannes Lupolo-Chan credits the realism of the award design process as a unique point of difference compared to other architectural design competitions.

Submissions to the 2014 9 Dots Award can be sent in PDF format before 28 August 2014