The 2014 Eat Drink Design Awards (EDDA) are open for submissions, the organisation has called for projects that display excellence in the design of hospitality premises of all scales and types.

The only awards program in Australasia dedicated to hospitality design, the EDDAs recognises excellence in the design of hospitality premises, retail environments for the sale of food and beverages, and visual identities for both segments.

Past jurors Christine Manfield and Jill Dupleix have been announced as founding ambassadors for the awards.

Now in its the third edition, the organisation are asking for submissions from a wide range of hospitality environments including bars, nightclubs, fine dining, restaurants, cafes, retail spaces and pop-up installations.

Below: Prahran Hotel by Techne Architects - Best Bar Design 2013. Image: Peter Clarke

Award categories include:

  • Best Bar Design, recognising achievement in bar, cocktail lounge or nightclub design;
  • Best Restaurant Design recognising achievement in restaurant design;
  • Best Café Design, recognising achievement in cafe, tea house or coffee shop design;
  • Best Temporary Design, recognising achievement in the design of temporary spaces, pop-ups, mobile food vehicles, marquees, promotional installations, VIP lounges and market stalls;
  • Best Retail Design, recognising achievement in the design of food and/or drink retail spaces including shops, supermarkets, delicatessens, providores, bottle shops, cellar doors, food markets and food courts;
  • Best Identity Design, recognising achievement in the design of a visual identity or collateral for a single food and/or drink venue or shop including logos, websites, menus, wine lists, stationery, signage, uniforms, coasters, placemats, books, style guides and any other visual material.

Above: Spring Street Grocer by KGA Architecture - Best Retail Design 2013. Image: Peter Bennetts
Below: Kitchen By Mike On Wheels by Koskela - Best Temporary Design 2013 . Image Ashley Jones

The 2014 jury brings together some of the leading practitioners in the Australasian design and hospitality scene, and include Simon Denton (restaurateur, Izakaya Den and Hihou); Michael Harden (food critic and writer, The Age, Gourmet Traveller and Good Food); Tina Engelen (designer and principal, CO-AP Architects); Kirsti Simpson (designer and director, Hassell); and Cameron Bruhn (editorial director, Architecture Media).

The winner of each individual award category receives a cash prize with a total prize pool of $9,000 across all categories. A Hall of Fame recipient is also announced, recognising a venue’s longevity and design excellence. Previous inductees include Café Di Stasio (Allan Powell, 1988) and Jimmy Watsons (Robin Boyd and Frederick Romberg, 1962).

Below: Top Paddock by Six degrees Architects - Best Café 2013. Image Albert Comper

The results will be published across a variety of media outlets, with the award recipients promoted in trade, design and hospitality media as well as mainstream media in Australia and New Zealand.

Entry submissions close on Friday 25 July. The shortlist will be published online on Monday 25 August and the final results will be announced at the awards ceremony on Tuesday 18 November.