The 2016 Victorian Architecture Awards is now open for entries, bringing the spotlight back on to Victoria’s exemplary architecture.

The Australian Institute of Architects Victorian Architecture Awards offers an opportunity for public and peer recognition of the innovative work of Victorian architects while providing the Institute a valuable mechanism to promote architects and architecture within Victoria, across Australia and internationally.

The AIA Victorian Awards Program welcomes entries from AIA members across 11 categories including: Residential Architecture – Houses (New); Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations and Additions); Residential Architecture - Multiple Housing; Small Project Architecture; Urban Design; Heritage Architecture; Interior Architecture; Commercial Architecture; Public Architecture – New; Public Architecture – Alterations and Additions; Educational Architecture; Sustainable Architecture (all entries considered); COLORBOND Award for Steel Architecture (all entries considered); and Enduring Architecture (buildings of at least 25 years of age may be considered).

State-Specific Awards:

Victorian Architecture Medal

The highest honour awarded by the Victorian Chapter each year to the most outstanding project from the entire field of entries.

Melbourne Prize

The Melbourne Prize recognises projects that have made a significant and unique contribution to the Melbourne metropolitan area.

Regional Prize

The Regional Prize recognises projects that have made a significant contribution to Regional Victoria.

2016 Victorian Architecture Awards key dates

  • Entries close 14 February 2016
  • Expressions of Interest for jury positions close 31 January 2016
  • Presentation to juries: Saturday 19 March 2016 at the Melbourne School of Design, Melbourne University, Parkville
  • Shortlists announced early May
  • Exhibition of entries: 8 – 19 June 2016 at the No Vacancy Gallery QV, Melbourne
  • Presentation dinner: Friday 24 June 2016, 7pm at the Peninsula at Central Pier, Docklands
  • National Architecture Awards Presentation: November 2016

Image: 2015 Victorian Architecture Medal winner: The Shrine of Remembrance – Galleries of Remembrance addition by ARM Architecture. Photography by John Gollings