Ninety nine of Australia’s best new properties, from large-scale commercial offices to boutique residences, have been announced as finalists for the 2015 Property Council of Australia / Rider Levett Bucknall Innovation and Excellence Awards.

The finalists span across 17 categories which this year include the new ‘Best Affordable Housing’ award, which recognises ‘value for money’ in a new or refurbished affordable housing development.

The largest category of the awards is the Innovation category, which has 18 finalists and includes the likes of 8 Chifley Square by Rogers Stirk Harbour & Partners and Lippmann Partnership, Liberty Place by Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp (pictured) and One Central Park  by Ateliers Jean Nouvel and PTW Architects.

Liberty Place and 8 Chifley were also shortlisted in the Best Sustainable Development – New Buildings category, which includes 700 Bourke Street NAB Docklands by Woods Bagot (pictured), 171 Collins Street  by Bates Smart and the Sustainable Buildings Research Centre (SBRC) - University of Wollongong by Cox Architecture.

Other recognisable finalists are the Gantry by Bates Smart, the Brisbane City Hall Restoration by TKD and Tanner GHD, and the Sydney Commonwealth Parliament Offices by Architectus (pictured), among many others.

Chief Executive of the Property Council of Australia Ken Morrison said the awards demonstrated the industry’s persistent commitment to leading-edge practice.

“The awards celebrate excellence across the entire spectrum of the industry – and recognise everything from large-scale commercial offices and shopping centres through to boutique residential and retirement living projects.”

All national finalists are in the running for the Property Council of Australia/Rider Levett Bucknall Australian Development of the Year award which will be announced along with category prizes. Five individuals have also been nominated for the du Chateau Chun Award for Future Leader of the Year.

National award winners will be announced at the 2015 Property Council of Australia / Rider Levett Bucknall Innovation and Excellence Awards Gala Dinner, to be held in Sydney on Friday 1 May.

Click on the image below to see the full list of finalists:

Image Credits:

Legion House: John Gollings
700 Bourke Street: Trevor Mein
Sydney Commonwealth Parliament Offices: Tyrone Branigan