Award-winning architect Suzanne Hunt has been elected the first female president of the Australian Institute of Architects Western Australian chapter.

The founder and principal of boutique architectural and interior design practice Suzanne Hunt Architect, Hunt specialises in residential, interior, hospitality and tourism architecture, and has over 30 years of experience in architectural and interior design, documentation, contract administration and strategic management in all sectors in both Australia and the UK.

Her recent work on the Japanese-inspired Bedfordale House received recognition from the industry with the project winning multiple awards including two Architecture Awards at the 2014 Australian Institute of Architects WA Architecture Awards and an Australian Timber Design Award in 2015.

Hunt is also known for her extensive involvement with architectural conservation and adaptive reuse. She has sat on the Heritage Council’s Development Committee and been engaged by numerous government departments and agencies to provide heritage advice and project management.

Hunt feels very privileged to have been elected by her peers and hopes that her election as first female president of the WA Chapter will encourage more women to get involved with the Institute. As part of her new role, she is keen to pursue increased advocacy for members, collaborate with associations in the design and construction space, and promote opportunities for architects in tourism, which is vital to the sustainability of the Western Australian economy.

Hunt also sits on a number of boards and committees including the Rottnest Island Authority, Peter Hunt Student Travel Prize Committee and the Australian Institute of Architects Gender Equity Taskforce Committee (WA).

Hunt is the daughter of the late Peter Hunt, the renowned architect behind buildings such as the WA Basketball Centre, HBF Stadium, the redeveloped Subiaco Oval and the WA Police Academy.

She assumes the role of WA Chapter president from local architect and heritage expert Philip Griffiths, who was elected in 2014.