The Australian Institute of Architects Queensland Chapter recently honoured several members with fellowships and prizes at the 2016 President’s Dinner.

In addition to the six life fellows and 14 fellows announced at the event, the chapter also awarded an honorary fellowship to Catherin Bull, professor emeritus of landscape architecture at the University of Melbourne and adjunct professor at Queensland University of Technology.

Sam Bowstead and Dylan McLaughlin were both awarded the Board of Architects’ Prize as well as the QIA Medallion. Aaron Peters of Vokes and Peters received the Emerging Architect Prize.

The President’s Dinner also witnessed the official changing of the guard for the Queensland Chapter with immediate past-president Richard Kirk handing over charge to new president Bruce Wolfe.

The President’s Prizes

Asia Pacific Architecture Forum - Architecture Media and State Library of Queensland; ‘Living in the city: New architecture in Brisbane and the Asia-Pacific’ - The Museum of Brisbane; Judith Gilmore - Queensland Chapter Manager

Emerging Architect Prize

Aaron Peters

QIA Medallion

Sam Bowstead (UQ); Dylan McLaughlin (Griffith); Jacquelyn Sue Yek (QUT)

Board of Architects’ Prize

Sam Bowstead (UQ); Dylan McLaughlin (Griffith); Georgia Elliott (QUT)

The Australian Institute of Architects Life Fellows

Catherine Baudet; Ian Charlton; Brian Donovan; Russell Hall; Cecil Hargraves; Richard Sale

The Australian Institute of Architects Fellows

Stephen Burt; Julianne Field; Chris Gay; Charles Howroyd; Andrew James; Michael Kisluk; Steven Layton; Gerard Lynch; Varouge Patapan; Gavan Reilly; Fergus Tait; Mark Urquhart; Wilhelmus Van Zijl; Robert Wesener

The Australian Institute of Architects Honorary Fellowship

Catherin Bull

Image: Vo Trong Nghia’s Green Ladder, commissioned by the Sherman Contemporary Art Foundation, was erected on the front lawn of the State Library of Queensland. Image: Dianna Snape