Four projects were honoured at the Australian Institute of Architects’ 2014 Darling Downs/West Moreton Regional Architecture Awards, which was held on Friday, 14 March, at Insight Gallery in Toowoomba.

Chosen from a total of 11 entries, Faith Lutheran College Library by Fulton Trotter Architects won the William Hodgen Award for Building of the Year.

“This library addition to the college campus creates a much needed focal point for the school,” noted the jury.

“It lifts the perception of the campus to a higher level. A multi-functional space has been added that connects to the rural landscape and creates a valuable and engaging covered gathering space as well.”

Faith Lutheran College Library by Fulton Trotter Architects. Photography by Angus Martin

The Darling Downs/West Moreton House of the Year Award went to Thorn by aardvarc. Praised for being a “small, well considered house that captures the casual atmosphere of original Queensland verandahs,” Thorn allows full appreciation of the site’s views and breezes.

Thorn by aardvarc. Photography by EstherJames

Cox Rayner Architects also received a regional commendation for the Ipswich Government Office Building.

Ipswich Government Office Building by Cox Rayner Architects. Photography by Angus Martin

The three awarded projects will progress to the Queensland Architecture Awards to be announced in Brisbane on 20 June 2014.

They were selected by Gavin Reilly (Gavan Reilly Architect), Greg Kratzmann (Greg Kratzmann Architects), and Kerry Martin (Aspect Architects), who assisted the 2014 State Awards Jury, including Liam Proberts (bureau^proberts), Paul Uhlmann (Paul Uhlmann Architects), Catherine Baudet (Ferrier Baudet Architects), Mark Jones (Architectus Brisbane) and Paul Curran (PUSH).

A special Enduring Architecture Prize was presented to St Alban’s Church, which was constructed in the early 60’s and designed by Lund Hutton Newell Black & Paulson.