Annually awarded to five individuals, the Dulux Study Tour, a collaboration between Dulux, the Australian Institute of Architects and the Emerging Architect and Graduate Network (EmAGN), has announced its 2018 shortlist.

The 28-member shortlist is Evie Blackman – Bild Architecture + Hinge Architects, Kim Bridgland – Edition Office, Ryan Brown – Kerry Hill Architects, Phil Burn – Matt Gibson Architecture + Design, Jessica Edwards – NT Government – Design Office, Leah Gallagher – Kin Architects, Steve Hunt – Owen Architecture, Nancy Ji – Bates Smart Architects, Phuong Le – MPA Construction Group, Amy Learmonth – O’Neill Architecture, Yuri Leong-Maish – YL Architecture, Jason Licht – Cumulus Studio, Adam Markowitz – self-employed, Carly McMahon – Liminal Studio, Jennifer McMaster – Trias, Yvonne Meng – Circle Studio Architects, Natalie Miles – Austin Maynard Architects, Phillip Nielsen – Regional Design Service, Joseph O’Meara – BVN, Viet Pham – Pham Tuan Viet Architect, Christopher Schofield – Studio Schofield, Tamarind Taylor – Conrad Gargett, Rebekah Verrier – Bence Mulcahy, Elizabeth Walsh – Cumulus Studio, Rebecca Whan – Jackson Teece, Alexandra Wilson – Andrew Burges Architects, Emily Wombwell – SJB and Dirk Yates – m3architecture.

Selected by a jury comprised of Richard Kirk (chair and national president of the Australian Institute of Architectus), Jennifer Cunich (CEO, Australian Institute of Architects), Richard Hansen and Natalie Ruuska from Dulux and past winner of the Dulux Study Tour Adam Pustola, the five eventual finalists will be visiting London, Berlin, and, for the first time in 2018, Milan.

Chosen on the basis of their contribution to architectural practice, education, design excellence, as well as community involvement, to proceed to stage two of the selection process, the 28 shortlisted entrants will now be required to submit an employer reference, CV and portfolio of their work to the jury.