The 23rd annual Building Designers Association of Victoria (BDAV) awards is inviting design professionals to showcase this year’s leading projects.

The BDAV Building Design Awards acknowledge and encourage excellence in building design, and profile the building design profession to the wider community.

This year’s awards features over 30 categories, from single dwelling and multi-residential projects, to interior design, commercial, education, hospitality, heritage conservation, and public buildings.

The Awards typically place an emphasis on sustainability in building design, with categories including ‘Best Energy Efficient’, ‘Best Environmentally Sustainable’, and ‘Excellence in the use of Recycled Materials’.

This year, two new categories have been introduced, a ‘Vintage Award’ to recognise projects that have demonstrated enduring value and an ‘Innovation Award’ to award outstanding application of materials.

The popular ‘People’s Choice Award’, encouraging the public to vote for their favourite project, will return in 2018.

BDAV President Lindsay Douglas says each year the Awards entries “go from strength to strength and provide not only the broader community with a window into the profession’s capabilities, but foster within BDAV members a sense of professional pride and a benchmark for best-practice projects.”

Last year’s award winners included Junctions 90’s Dina Malathounis who made BDAV history by being the first female building designer to win the coveted Building Design of the Year (for Killara) in the 22 years of the BDAV Building Design Awards.

Other award winners included Green Sheep Collective’s environmentally designed Alphington Townhouses, Wilson ID’s retail interiors for The Essential Ingredient, and Brandrick Architects for Moama Anglican Grammar School.

Entry is open to registered building designers and registered architects who are full BDAV members.

Entries close for the BDAV Building Design Awards on 9 April 2018. Award winners will be announced at the Annual Awards Dinner, Saturday 4 August 2018 at the National Gallery of Victoria.