Nominations have now opened for the 11th annual Architecture & Design Sustainability Awards to be held at a gala dinner in Sydney in October 20, 2017.

As the best and biggest awards to date, a total of 14 awards will be presented on the night, recognising the work of those at the forefront of ecologically sustainable building and design in Australia.

For the first time, this year there will be a People’s Choice award that celebrates innovation in sustainable design and which will be chosen by the editorial team at Architecture & Design.

With an eminent judging panel consisting of Dick Clarke, Caroline Pidcock, David Palin, Elizabeth Watson Brown, Kate Harris, Kerryn Wilmot, Peter Newman, Rory Martin and Steve King, the Architecture & Design Sustainability Awards remain the architecture industry’s strongest independent awards program.

For the 2017 Sustainability Awards, the full list of categories are:

  • Commercial
  • Heritage
  • Public
  • Single Dwelling Alteration or Addition
  • Landscape & Urban Design
  • Innovation or Application
  • Education
  • Interior Architecture
  • Single Dwelling (New)
  • Multiple Dwelling
  • Building Product
  • Achievement of Merit 
  • Best of the Best (Product or Project)
  • People’s Choice

According to Architecture & Design editor Branko Miletic, the 2017 Sustainability Awards is Australia’s premier platform to showcase sustainable products and designs.

“These awards recognise companies for their commitment to sustainability – and rewards those who are helping the industry, and society as a whole, to move to a more sustainable future,” said Miletic.

“As a publication that encourages the widespread adoption of sustainable methods, the Sustainability Awards this year for the first time will include a People’s Choice award that will, provide an extra dimension to what already is a fantastic and comprehensive awards program.”

All entries need to be in no later than July 14 and there is no fee for entering. To enter click here

The awards winners will be announced at the gala dinner, which will be held on October 20 at a yet to be named venue.

For more information about the 11th Annual Architecture & Design Sustainability Awards, go to or call Tegan Schwarz, Indesign Events & Brand Activation Manager on 0401 641 679, or Branko Miletic, editor of Architecture & Design on 02 9018 2039.