My shortlist (0 item)

    2013 Infinite Value Awards winners announced

    Geraldine Chua

    The 2013 Australian Institute of Quantity Surveyors (AIQS) Infinite Value Awards winners have been announced, with the Translational Research Institute clinching the top prize of the night.

    Designed by Wilson Architects + Donovan Hill, the Translational Research Institute scooped the Coverforce Architectural Excellence Award before taking home the Lend Lease Project of the Year Award.

    The Institute is located on the Princess Alexandra Hospital Campus in Brisbane, and comprises four levels of laboratory research facilities, as well as additional floors for administration, teaching and research support.

    Construction of the 32,000 square metres, $195 million facility was completed in October 2013, with the spaces facilitating interaction between researchers, providing outlook beyond the building, and maximising natural light through transparency and permeability across the deep plans.

    Translational Research Institute by Wilson Architects and Donovan Hill. Image: Christopher Frederick Jones

    Associate Director of Davis Langdon Gary McDonald, who collected the Award during the gala dinner, believes that it was the attention to architectural detail and functionality of the project that made it stand out.

    “It looks great and services a valuable function to mankind, and everyone loves to work there,” he said.

    The other big winner of the night was Forté by Lend Lease & TBA, which won the Bluescope Steel Innovation Project Award, and the Engineering Excellence Award.

    As the tallest modern timber apartment building the world, Forté was built with prefabricated wooden panels made from cross-laminated timber (CLT). The multiple timber layers are glued and pressed, enabling the building to bear the load of 10 storeys.

    Forté by Lend Lease & TBA

    The Lend Lease Professional of the Year Award went to Director and Head of Advisory with Rider Levett Bucknall, Stephen Ballesty, who also won the Lifetime Contribution Award.

    “These awards are important in validating my work with the AIQS and other industry bodies, in particular my focus [on] non-traditional services addressing whole of life and qualitative issues. I have been fortunate in career and the people I have worked with over an extended time,” said Ballesty.

    Stephen Ballesty (left), who won the Professional of the Year Award, with Gary McDonald (right), Associate Director of Davis Langdon

    Into its second year, the Infinite Value Awards aim to honour the hard work of members of the AIQS, as well as the affiliated professions within the construction industry.

    Full list of winners:

    Sustainable/Green Project Award
    Monash University Briggs and Jackomos Hall, nominated by WT Partnership (VIC)

    Bluescope Steel Innovation Project Award
    Forté, nominated by Lend Lease (NSW)

    GHD International Project Award
    CIC Zero Carbon Building Hong Kong, nominated by Sweett Group

    Engineering Excellence Award
    Forté, nominated by Lend Lease (NSW)

    Coverforce Architectural Excellence Award
    Translational Research Institute, nominated by Davis Langdon (QLD)

    Government Project Award
    Brisbane Supreme Court and District Court, nominated by Wilde and Woollard (QLD)

    Conduit Recruitment Future Leader Award
    Andrew Brady, nominated by Stuart Gray, Gray Robinson & Cottrell

    SGA Property Consultancy Women in Construction Award
    Asha Balachandran, nominated by Ramesh Palikila, Dar Al Handasah

    AIQS Lifetime Achievement Award
    Stephen Ballesty, nominated by Mark Chappe, Rider Levett Bucknall

    AIQS Quantity Surveying Advocacy Award
    Ramesh Palikila, nominated by Prof. Indrawansa Samaratunga

    MBM Research and Teaching Award
    Dr Robert Crawford, nominated by Dr Ajibade Aibinu, University of Melbourne
    Dr Assem Al-Hajj, nominated by Dr Hajir Hakim, Heriot Watt University

    Lend Lease Project of the Year Award
    Translational Research Institute, nominated by Davis Langdon (QLD)

    Lend Lease Professional of the Year Award
    Stephen Ballesty, nominated by Mark Chappe, Rider Levett Bucknall

    Read Comments
    Back to Top