My shortlist (0 item)

    Presenting the National Architecture Awards 2011 winners

    All the winning projects from the 2011 national awards by the Australian Institute of Architects go on show in an exhibition open from today at the Gallery of Australian Design (GAD) in Canberra (full list below).

    The event takes place on the shores of Lake Burley Griffin (44 Parkes Place, Parkes, Canberra) from Wednesday, November 9 to Saturday, December 10, 2011.

    A total of 34 awards and commendations, selected from a total of 160 finalists, were awarded at a ceremony last week, across 12 categories to projects in Victoria (8 awards and commendations), NSW (8), Queensland (5), Tasmania (3), ACT (1), Western Australia (2), Northern Territory (1) and South Australia (2).

    They are all being exhibited in an array of stunning photographs and written descriptions.

    Australia’s most prestigious national architecture award - The Sir Zelman Cowen Award for Public Architecture - awarded this year to the Australian War Memorial Eastern Precinct in the ACT by Sydney-based practice Johnson Pilton Walker (JPW).

    This year’s Jury Chair, Mr Karl Fender, said: “The Eastern Precinct is the final phase of the development of the Australia War Memorial, with the parking area moved underground and the area opened up for its original intent — reflection and celebration. Rarely does a brief combine such prosaic outcomes with the emotional responsibility of creating a site of reflection”.

    Australian War Memorial Eastern Precinct (Johnson Pilton Walker). Photographer: Brett Boardman

    A National Award for Public Architecture was presented to AAMI Park in Melbourne (Cox Architecture); with Commendations to the Brain and Mind Research Institute (BMRI) — Youth Mental Health Building in Sydney (BVN Architecture); Victoria University Learning Commons and Exercise Sports Science Project (John Wardle Architects) and St Mary’s Catholic Primary School New Hall and Library, Reggio Emelia Early Learning Centre and Courtyard (Troppo Architects NT).

    AAMI Park (Cox Architecture). Image: Dianna Snape

    The Cairns Cruise Terminal (Arkhefield and Total Project Group Architects, architects in association) won The Lachlan Macquarie Award for Heritage, with a project the jury said had “breathed life into a largely forgotten part of the Cairns waterfront”.

    Cairns Cruise Terminal (Arkhefield and Total Project Group, Architects in Association).Image: Scott Burrows

    The State Theatre Centre of Western Australia (Kerry Hill Architects) won The Emil Sodersten Award for Interior Architecture, with the jury saying “at night the buzz of human activity in rehearsal spaces and golden foyers transforms the centre’s character to one of joyful exuberance”.

    A National Award for Interior Architecture was awarded to Nudgee College Tierney Auditorium. The jury said “The theatrical sensibility moves from the external entry spaces and foyer to find its apotheosis in a rich and mysterious interior auditorium. Walls are covered in a shallow wall tectonic of mirror, colour and fibre optics to create a lush and dark space.”

    Australia’s top award for international architecture, The Jørn Utzon Award for International Architecture, was awarded to School of the Arts, Singapore (WOHA), located at the gateway to the city’s arts and entertainment district. The jury said, “WOHA has adeptly filled a complex brief, initiated green measures, brought light into a deep plan and created natural territories in which to demystify the arts”.

    An Award for International Architecture was won by Amankora in Bhutan (Kerry Hill Architects), with a commendation to Johnson Pilton Walker for the Suzhou Industrial Park Logistics Centre in China.

    The jury noted the particular strength of this year’s Commercial Architecture, with The Harry Seidler Award for Commercial Architecture presented to Ecosciences Precinct (HASSELL) in Brisbane. The jury said “the building purposefully unites the complex, high performance requirements of laboratory space with social, people orientated environments filtered by a light garden ambience”.

    A National Award for Commercial Architecture was presented to the Myer Bourke Street Redevelopment in Melbourne (NH Architecture), with a commendation going to the AM60 commercial tower (Donovan Hill) in Brisbane.

    Australia’s most prestigious residential award — The Robin Boyd Award for Residential Architecture - Houses was awarded to Castlecrag House (Neeson Murcutt Architects), described by the jury as making “an effortless and timeless contribution to architectural speculations on domesticity”.

    Castlecrag House (Neeson Murcutt Architects). Image: Brett Boardman

    National Awards for Residential Architecture - Houses went to Solis in Queensland (Renato D’Ettorre Architects) and Gallery House in Victoria (Denton Corker Marshall). With commendations to Garden House in NSW (Durbach Block Jaggers Architects) and Marion Bay House in Tasmania (1+2 Architecture).

    The Frederick Romberg Award for Residential Architecture - Multiple Housing was presented to Candalepas Associates for its Waterloo Street project in Surry Hills in Sydney. The jury said “While the palette to the project is deliberately limited and disciplined, a rich spatial and architectural experience has been created”.

    Waterloo Street (Candalepas Associates). Image: Brett Boardman

    A National Award for Residential Architecture — Multiple Housing went to John Street, Box Hill (Hayball) and a commendation to A’Beckett Tower (Elenberg Fraser), both from Victoria.

    A National Award for Small Project Architecture was presented to Domenic Alvaro for Small House in NSW; with two commendations going to Little Big House, Tasmania (Room11); and Law Street House, Victoria (Muir Mendes).

    The Walter Burley Griffin Award for Urban Design was won by one40william in Perth (HASSELL), a project described by the jury as one which “essentially transformed this city block into a city fabric”.

    A National Award for Urban Design was presented to Johnson Pilton Walker for the Australian War Memorial Eastern Precinct in the ACT, while Tonkin Zulaikha Greer was commended for its work on the National Centre of Indigenous Excellence in NSW.

    The COLORBOND Award for Steel Architecture was presented to the hangar in NSW (Peter Stutchbury Architecture), with a commendation to Tridente Architects for its design of the Caritas College Junior School External Covered Area in South Australia.

    The National Enduring Architecture Award was awarded to the Magney House, Bingie Bingie in NSW, by Glenn Murcutt. The jury said “Things that endure provide a connection over time and yet have a timeless essence. The Magney House is one of those places”.

    The National Award for Sustainable Architecture was presented to DesignInc for its work on The University of Adelaide Innova21, with commendations going to Wolveridge Architects for Hill Plains House in Victoria, as well as Morrison & Breytenbach Architects for Tarremah Hall in Tasmania.

    The Institute has also now released its second book in a ten part series called INSPIRE, showcasing the 2011 Australian Institute of Architects’ State, Territory and National Architecture Award winners.

    Back to Top